The Benoit/Freeman topped the chart 25 years ago

The top ten contemporary jazz recordings from the week of Feb. 13, 1994!

The Benoit/Freeman Project
  1. David Benoit and Russ Freeman, The Benoit/Freeman Project
  2. Nelson Rangell, Yes Then Yes
  3. Tom Scott, Reed My Lips
  4. Richard Smith, From My Window
  5. Torcuato Mariano, Paradise Station
  6. Marcus Miller, The Sun Don’t Lie
  7. Yellowjackets, Run for Your Life
  8. Fourplay, Between the Sheets
  9. Gary Burton/Rebecca Parris, It’s Another Day
  10. Charles Michael Brotman, Pacific Rendezvous

Try It Out Tuesdays – Gary Burton Quartet Live!

Gary Burton Quartet Live with Pat Metheny, Steve Swallow and Antonio SanchezIn the early 1970s, the Gary Burton Quartet, which included bassist Steve Swallow, added a 19-year old guitarist to the group. His name was Pat Metheny. Those three gentlemen reunited a couple of years ago, along with drummer Antonio Sanchez, and one of their performances was recorded for the release out today. Quartet Live! is four all-star musicians playing compositions by Metheny, Swallow, Burton, Chick Corea, Keith Jarrett, Carla Bley, and Duke Ellington. It goes without saying that this is good music.

Check out a couple of tracks from it (Windows Media Player required):

> “Sea Journey” Windows Media | QuickTime
> “Missouri Uncompromised” Windows Media | QuickTime

Buy it at! Support by buying this CD through CD | Support by buying this through iTunes MP3

I have copies of this worthy release to give away. Keep your eyes on the site or Twitter for details soon!

Try It Out Tuesdays – Groove Thing

This Is No Time... from Bill Ware and Groove ThingTry It Out Tuesdays offers a free full MP3 of an artist. Today’s track is from Groove Thing, the acid jazz effort from vibraphonist Bill Ware. This track, “On the Sand,” came on my iPod while driving home today. As I wrote about last summer, This Is No Time… is a favorite of mine. Vibes and flute are two of my top five favorites instruments. Of the number of Groove Thing tracks I could pick, “On the Sand” wins because it puts another of my faves in – trombone. Where else are you gonna hear vibes, flute, trombone, guitar, and the acid jazz vibe? This track is also a regular on Radio.

Click the play button to hear “On the Sand.” If you like what you hear, click the Shopping Cart icon to buy This Is No Time… from It’s been out of print for a long time but you can still get a new copy for less than $7.

The Pure compilation with JEN meets CAN7Groove Thing – This Is No Time…

Review: The Grand Unification Theory by Stefon Harris

The Grand Unification Theory by Stefon HarrisI’d made multiple mentions of Stefon Harris’ The Grand Unification Theory prior to its release in February. The word “ambitious” was used by myself and nearly every person referring to the project. The word is appropriate. What else do you call a young man who writes a 13-movement suite about the meaning of life for 12 musicians in his third album out as a leader?

I’ve always been a fan of concept albums as well as the vibraphone so I eagerly sought this CD out. I’m happy to report that I was not let down. The Grand Unification Theory, which takes its title from a theory in quantum physics, embraces jazz, funk, Latin, African, and Classical influences. Stefon’s vibraphone and marimba are in the forefront when you hear the CD, but when you really listen to it, it’s his composing that really strikes you. The movements that Harris has written are structured yet free enough for the musicians to swing and groove. All of the musicians that have been gathered for this release prove themselves, but drummer Terreon Gully really makes his presence known. I’ll be watching for his name in the future.

I’ve had this CD for over a month and had difficulty in writing a review. I’ve discovered that the reason for this is that I never had the opportunity to sit down and listen to the entire 75 minutes at one time, uninterrupted. I’ve heard most of it here and there, but the full effect isn’t realized until it’s listened to in the manner that it’s meant to. The reward is there if you can take the time, sit back in your chair, and follow the titles with the track sequence. Having said that, there are numerous cuts that easily can stand alone. “Prologue” is an infectious tune that you’ll remember all day. “The Velvet Couch” is funky and “March of the Angels” is also memorable.

Stefon Harris has got my attention. I’m anxious to see how he follows up this project.